Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame

GRANT FORD, 1923 -
Inducted into the Colorado Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame 1996
| Home | Back to Alphabetical List | Year of Induction List |
Back to Athlete | Back to Ski Sport Builder | Back to Inspirational

Grant moved to Colorado in 1948, having been introduced to the state while training at Camp Hale, as a member of the Tenth Mountain Division. Originally from Wausau, Wisconsin, he attended Amherst College in 1941-42, was interrupted by the war, and finally graduated in 1948. He was captain of the Amherst Ski team and participated in Eastern Ski Association and collegiate events.

Having caught ski fever, and being a member of the Rib Mountain Ski Patrol, he immediately jumped into skiing activities such as competition, ski patrolling, officiating and organized skiing. As a member of Ski Club Zipfelberger he was a top competitor, as well as serving as President and Race Chairman, and during his tenure, the club received the Miller Highlife Trophy as the nation's outstanding ski club in 1950.

As an active member of the Southern Rocky Mountain Ski Association, he served as Race Chairman and developed the first standard procedures for ski clubs sponsoring competitions. He served as President of the Southern Rocky Mountain Ski Association in 1951-52 and was reelected in 1953-54.

He was a director of the National Ski Association (now USSA) and served three terms. In 1957, he was appointed Secretary of the National Ski Association's Olympic Ski Games Committee. He was also a member of the original Denver Metro Ski Patrol, which coincided with being a part of the Winter Park ski patrol. In 1954-55 he was designated Trustee of the National Ski Patrol System.

As an official, Grant was a certified National Ski Jumping Judge, National Referee and Course Setter and was designated as a National Alpine Technical Delegate. He officiated at a great many divisional, national, and collegiate competitions and was Race Chairman and Chief of Course at many of these events.

He has been awarded the SRMSA highest honor as the recipient of the Halstead Memorial Trophy. He has also been very active in the development of Loveland and the Hidden Valley ski areas.

© Copyright 1996-2003 - Colorado Ski Museum - Ski Hall of Fame - All Rights Reserved